Fields of Lace

 

Little lacy flowers dancing in the breeze in nearly every meadow this time of year. Beware, there is a hidden danger in alluring meadows like the one you see. I have come to the conclusion that anytime you see someone carelessly strolling through a field brushing their hand across the grass and flowers, it is definitely NOT in Kentucky. If you are ignorant brave enough or just don’t know what you’re doing, you could walk through the tall grass to admire or pick these and other beautiful wildflowers but the dreaded menace of the south will be waiting for unsuspecting hosts. What is this menace I speak of? Chiggers. The tiny mites that wait on tall grasses and Queen Anne’s Lace (affectionately called Chigger Weed by anyone who has suffered from the little pests). I haven’t had them in years, mostly because I just don’t venture into meadows and fields for blackberry picking with a tank top, shorts and flip-flops. 😉

I admire Queen Anne’s Lace from a distance. Lucky you, though! You don’t even have to risk getting too close, you can look at my picture!

6 thoughts on “Fields of Lace

  1. RejoiceForTheDay 2012-07-23 / 6:51 PM

    Great picture! I live in Tennessee and would NEVER walk through a field like that in summer- or spring or fall. I never knew that Queen Anne’s Lace could also be referred to as ‘chigger weed’! Good to know, thank you! 🙂

    • vanevolence 2012-07-23 / 7:13 PM

      You’re quite welcome! I came from up north were we never even heard of chiggers. My family moved to KY when I was young but what an introduction: one semi-citified family, newly purchased 2.5 acres in the country and GALLONS of calamine lotion.

      • RejoiceForTheDay 2012-07-23 / 11:10 PM

        Totally know what you mean! I moved to TN from the Southwest and this part of the country is different for sure! Bugs and weather included 🙂

  2. beatrix mana 2012-07-25 / 1:57 PM

    Beautiful picture and great post. Tell you the truth I have only ventured off my porch into the yard maybe a couple of times this year. It is usually straight to the car.I am such a chicken. But those chiggers will stay with you itching for weeks. I never can understand why they were created. Then we would have nothing to complain about,he,he. Love your posts.

    • vanevolence 2012-07-25 / 7:22 PM

      Thanks Beatrix Mother! If we didn’t have chiggers we wouldn’t have anything to scare unsuspecting relatives that visit from the north or west or what ever. Well I guess we could send them snipe hunting! 😉

  3. tchistorygal 2012-07-28 / 2:47 PM

    Funny article and comments! I was sure it the menace was going to be poison ivy. I grew up in Indiana, and that’s what I ran into when walking through fields. (Not many time more than once.) In California at this time of year, the menace is rattlesnakes. Take your pick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

