Dust in the Sun

Ten million little speckles of dust in the sun.
All swirling down from where ever they must come.
Reach out your little hand and touch them in wonder.
What are these floaty things your small mind must ponder.

The simple sweet things of childhood wonder,
Like ten million little speckles of dust in the sun.

What is this amazement a small parade?
Little balloons released for me on this day!
If I could collect them and take them with me,
I’ll show the world how delightful life could be.

The simple sweet things of childhood wonder
Like ten million little speckles of dust in the sun.

I remember as a very young child (2 or 3?), looking at the dust floating in the sunlight. I thought they were balloons, I still remember some of the conversation I had with my mother about them being balloons. I caught my youngest son admiring the dust in the sunlight. His little hand reaching out to touch the mysterious shinny flecks gave me a flashback to my childhood experience with dust in the sun. I wish I would have had my camera handy when it happened because it was so cute. Been hoping to catch him at it again, but no luck. Have any unique childhood memories? Please share.

About vanevolence

I am a 26 year old mother of two beautiful boys and the wife of the most determined man I've ever met. We live in Kentucky on, I think, the prettiest 5 acres I've ever seen. It could have something to do with the fact that after a long year trying to sell a house that wasn't right for us and 7 months of renting an apartment we are finally going to build our forever home. I dabble in a little bit of everything from music (dulcimer and guitar), photography, writing, sewing, quilting, crocheting, gardening and now a blog. View all posts by vanevolence

3 responses to “Dust in the Sun

  • beatrix mana

    Love the poem. It takes me back to childhood but I don’t remember the dust in the sun. I remember my children and their vivid imaginations oh how I loved those years gone by! Now I can see the grandchildren and how creative they have become through their parents,Oh what a blessing!

  • thethoughtsofaperson

    What a cute poem. When I was really young I had an imaginary pet bird that I would carry around with me, cupped in my hand. According to my mom I showed anyone who would listen. 🙂

    • vanevolence

      Thanks! I had imaginary friends that would get me into trouble by pulling all my clothes out of my dresser. 😉 My mom says I called them the kiddos and joe guys. 🙂 I love playing along with kids when they are imagining, it’s so fun.

Leave a Reply

