My Town Part I

This post is about my hometown. If you have ever had a sip (or two) of bourbon chances are you are tasting the very thing that makes this place famous.  We live in Kentucky, known to most by the stereotype of everyone being “hillbillies” running around barefoot with guns all the time. We certainly have our share of rednecks, but we do have an abundance of culture and history as well. I’m hoping to have this photo tour done in three posts but there are so many great things that I love about this town and I’m discovering more all the time, so we’ll just have to see where we end up.

The Jailer’s Inn was the county jail and operated as a jail for almost 200 years!

Back of Jailer’s Inn.

A good friend let us in to see the courtyard.

“I wish for a big red bicycle.”

Great atmosphere as are most of the taverns, pubs and bars in this town.

“Main” street. North Third to be precise.

No dark scary alley here.

Courthouse Square

This home is called Shadow Lawn. It was the home of my husband’s great uncle. There are other buildings that are named after my husband’s ancestors… stay tuned.

Resting while mom takes more pictures.

Another resting spot for a weary boy.

Another resting spot for a weary boy. I believe these stones were laid as stairs for carriage entry.

Historic Spalding Hall was a college in the 19th century and briefly a hospital during the civil war. It is now the Oscar Getz Museum of Whiskey History and Bardstown Historical Museum.

Waiting for the traffic light.

At the end of our little adventure I took some pictures of my travel companions. The littlest guy is in the wagon. He does not like his picture taken.

Stay tuned for more of my town.

About vanevolence

I am a 26 year old mother of two beautiful boys and the wife of the most determined man I've ever met. We live in Kentucky on, I think, the prettiest 5 acres I've ever seen. It could have something to do with the fact that after a long year trying to sell a house that wasn't right for us and 7 months of renting an apartment we are finally going to build our forever home. I dabble in a little bit of everything from music (dulcimer and guitar), photography, writing, sewing, quilting, crocheting, gardening and now a blog. View all posts by vanevolence

4 responses to “My Town Part I

Leave a Reply

